Oh the INSANITY!


Freshers Fairs! My God, they’re insane.

For those of you who don’t know, a Fresher’s Fair (or welcome fair, start of year fair, lalala) is an event hosted by the university at the beginning of the year which showcases all the supposedly awesome and must-join societies on offer.

At my last university, as an actual fresher, I was too chicken to join most societies that I wanted to. I had no real friends to convince me to do it, and I was not confident enough in any ability to think about declaring to the world that I was good at anything. Three years later, it’s been one of my biggest regrets.

Luckily for me, I get a second chance! Now that I’m doing this Masters, at a brand new uni with brand new people and a brand new perspective on life, I can join all the societies I wanted to as a brand-spanking new student and this time, I can commit! and that’s what I did. The only thing I hadn’t bargained for was the fact that my mentality going into the freshers fair was not what I expected. The first time, I approached it as a meek outcast who sees the big city for the first time; all awe and wonderment. This time, it was more like a CIA raid. Get in, get the goods and GO! It’s not that I didn’t want to soak up all the delicious studenty experiences, it’s just that having fifty tonnes of useless fliers thrown in your face, alongside free cake, pizza and membership cards to every single establishment in the city isn’t the sort of thing that gets me in the mood to meander slowly down the river of fresh meat the university managed to ensnare at this years enrollment.

Nevertheless, after a fairly hectic morning, I’ve managed to get myself onto the drama society, the film society and the baking society. Before I know it, I’ll be playing Mary Berry in Hollywood!

A harrassed yet satisfied Gingernut xx

4 thoughts on “Oh the INSANITY!

    • Haha thanks a lot, hope you work out a way to keep on top of your work! I know it’s gonna be very hard for me, so I feel your pain! Of course I’ll have a look at your blog 🙂
      xx

      Like

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

