Masters: I’m Branching Out


Today, I’m going to the Drama Society Social at Manchester Uni. I’m nervous! It’s not until 8pm tonight, so I have time to prepare, but boy do I wish I was going with someone I knew!

I’ve always loved acting, but for the past three years I’ve been a bit sidetracked by studying. Now, you all might be thinking (so why are you getting involved now when you’re still studying? My answer: I really regretted not doing it at undergrad level. Now is my last chance to be a part of a drama society at univeristy, and masters or no masters I’m not going to pass up this opportunity. 

As I said before, I’m scared. The reason for this is very simple; I don’t think I can act anymore! I did quite well during high school (As at GCSE and A Level for Theatre Studies) and I was in some school productions. I was then a member of MADS amateur dramatics society and was involved in a play for them. That was four years ago now. I’ve done one student film which didn’t really involve that much acting, and I’ve been an extra in a few things since then. That’s it. AHHHH! I can’t do it! I’m also worried that if I make friends with these drama people, then I audition for a play they’ll think I’m a big fat idiot.

Sigh.

Maybe I’m just being crazy. I’ll let you know how tonight goes!

Gingernut xx

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

