We are living in the future!


We really are living in the future.

I was reading articles on the BBC news app, and I came across one about Bionic Olympics. Immediately I was hooked — I’m really interested in spinal injuries, amputations and new technology (don’t ask me why, I have no idea where my strange interests manifest).

Apparently in 2016 Switzerland will host the first ever Bionic Olympics, where athletes with severe spinal injuries and amputations will compete to win gold. There will be avatars controlled through brain-computer interfaces (AWESOME!) for paraplegics, exoskeletal competitions for people paralyzed from the waist down, as well as events for people with prosthetic limbs.

I’m so excited to see how this works, and I think it’s amazing that technology has advanced enough to allow people who previously could only dream of competing in events like these make their dreams come true.

For the brain-computer interface competitions, I think it’s really cool that not only will the ‘athletes’ get a medal, but so will the company who design the avatar!

I can’t wait for this to air – I think it’s possibly the biggest sign of technological advancement the world has seen yet.

THE FUTURE IS HERE!

I love science :]

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

