Masters: The Experiment Begins


We have finally started our research project!

I’ve got to tell you, when we decided to test people’s reactions to emotional stimuli over the sleep period, I really didn’t think it through.

What it means for me is that:

1) I have to be in Manchester (1 1/2 hours away by train and walking) every night between 8 and 10pm.

2) I have to be in Manchester every morning between 9 and 11 am.

3) When we book people in for testing every night of the week, that means I need to be in Manchester both in the morning and in the evening, and transport is expensive – that means that a lot of the time I’m going to have to just stay in Manchester all day to save money.

4) My brother lives closer to Manchester than me so sometimes I might stay at his, but that means I won’t see my other family members for days at a time, and I’m not used to that.

5) I’ll be eating my dinner out of a tupperware box for the forseeable future.

6) I’m going to find it really difficult to do my 5:2 diet because my days will be so long.

[On a completely separate note, this is a much more successful list than my previous one!]

Despite these issues with my study, we’ve tested the first 4 participants and it seems to be going well! We’re not really allowed to look at the data yet because we might subconsciously influence the participants to perform in a particular way, but I’m still optimistic that it’s all going the way we hoped!

I wonder how long my optimism will last…

 

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

