Positive Psychology – Meaning: My Best Possible Self


546008acf7950870066254d2125f46ca

I’m currently revising positive psychology as part of my ‘public clinical and health psychology’ module, and I’m currently looking at the types of positive psychology interventions that exist.

One I really like, possibly because at the moment I think it’s very relevant to me, is the search for meaning by writing about your best possible self. This should be a future version of yourself where all your hopes and aspirations have come true.

You can pick any future time point you like to write about, so I’m going to pick 1 year from now. I’m coming to the end of my masters degree now, and this is the time for me to choose my path. I think this exercise will help me to decide what I want that path to be.

I see myself in a job which pays me quite well. If I’m going to be honest, I’m an actress, doing well in an enjoyable TV show, or I have a small role in a movie. I feel confident about my acting abilities, yet I’m also aware that I have lots to improve on, and much more to learn about the craft. I’m really enjoying my job, and I’ve made loads of close friends with the cast and crew. As well as being an actress, I am still very interested in psychology. I read psychology journals and magazines, and I’m up to date on the latest research.

Me and my boyfriend are living together. I’m able to show him that I love him, and we have fun together. Despite some times not being great, I don’t get aggressive when I’m annoyed. I am calm and able to think rationally. I am still physically attracted to him, and I find him exciting. I feel attractive myself, and confident when talking to others. I look people in the eye when I talk to them, and they find me engaging.

I don’t get annoyed at my family for their quirks. I love spending time with everyone together, including my sister. She asks me about what’s happening in my life and I show an interest in hers. I am able to express myself to the people around me in a way which really reflects how I feel — I don’t use sarcasm or jokes to mask what I think and feel.

I really enjoy life. I’m doing lots of different things, learning new skills and keeping my life full of variety. I have a plan for the future, and I also have a back-up plan if things don’t work out right. When I think about my life, I’m filled with a sense of excitement, joy, and peace. I look forward to work, I’m interested in the world, and I engage with the people I meet.

I really hope that some of that can come true!

Research says you’re supposed to feel happier after doing this, and to be honest I think I do. Whether that’s because I know I should, or because I actually do, is up to debate, but the end result is the same so I’m happy with that!

If you decide to give this a go, I’d love it if you let me know how you find it. I think for some people it can be really challenging to imagine yourself in the best light possible. It wasn’t easy for me, and I only wrote a very short piece of text.

Thanks for reading about my best possible self — I feel quite self-conscious because it’s probably the most personal thing I’ve written on the blog so far, but I think all that means is that it was important to do it 🙂

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

