Nightmare: Applying to Acting Agencies


Let me know if any of you experience this problem:

I have always loved acting, but I also really like psychology. When debating what to do at uni, I decided to do Psychology because in order to be a Psychologist you need a degree – in order to be an actress you don’t. Or so I thought. I’ve finished my undergrad degree and masters, and I’m now trying to pursue acting full time because it’s what I love the most.

I’ve just sent off applications to about eight acting agencies around Manchester, but many of them want me to have a Spotlight membership. Without Spotlight you basically don’t exist in this industry (in the UK). The criteria for Spotlight, however, are either that you have been involved in ‘paid, professional work’ or you have been to an accredited Drama School.

I, clearly, have NOT been to an accredited drama school, AND I have had paid acting work but it doesn’t count because Spotlight have some exclusion criteria – one of them being Short Films don’t count.

So now I have a dilemma, because I don’t think I’ll be able to get an agent without being a member of Spotlight, I’m not currently eligible to be a member of Spotlight, and I won’t get any work which will help me to become eligible for Spotlight because I can’t get an agent!

GAH!

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

