Astrophotography


I’ve always been extremely interested in space and nature photography, but I’ve never really tried to combine the two. Astrophotography is fascinating, and the images which can be achieved can be mind-blowing.

My first attempt is anything but mind-blowing, but this photo of Orion (well, most of it) does give a hint as to the nebula (see the star on the very bottom of the screen, to the left). I’m also pleased with it because it shows many more stars than are visible to the naked eye, meaning I must have done something right!

Orion

For my second shot, I seem to have managed to capture what I believe to be the ISS on it’s way over Earth. See the repeated dots in the upper centre of the frame. I also had a play around with the levels and managed to reveal a few more stars than were clear initially.ISSFinally, I have a photo of the moon because it looked very cool, and I’m really surprised at how it came out on film. It’s so bright on the side where the sun is hitting it, it looks almost like it’s been edited. I know this will be to do with the settings on my camera so I’ve not quite worked out the best combination of f-stop, aperture and ISO yet, but I’m hoping that once I do I’ll be able to get a more accurate representation of what the night sky looks like to me.

Half Moon

Overall I’m quite pleased with these, but as always I will welcome any hints and tips you guys might have for me so I can improve. Bear in mind I am in a fairly urban area, so I’m fighting against street lamps and other light pollution.

2 thoughts on “Astrophotography

  1. Fx says:

    Sorry, I know nothing of photography so can’t offer any hints or tips. I just wanted to say that I love your shot of the moon – it might not be what you intended but I think it’s a really interesting image πŸ™‚
    x

    Like

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

