Basic Cake Recipe


It’s my mum’s birthday on Tuesday so I’m making her a cake, and I decided I’d do a photo-recipe for you lovely readers out there who are keen to start baking but might be daunted by the task!

This recipe is SO easy. You bung everything into the one bowl, mix it all together, and BAKE.

1) Preheat the oven to 180 degrees

DSC_0339

2) Cut out two circles of greaseproof paper which match the size of your two cake tins

DSC_0325

3) Rub a small amount of butter onto each cake tin, and then smooth the greaseproof paper on top

DSC_0326

4) GrabΒ a clean bowl

DSC_0303

5) Sieve 6 oz self-raising flour into the bowl

DSC_03076) Add 6oz caster sugar

DSC_0310

7) Add a splash of vanilla essence, and 1 tsp baking powder

DSC_03128) Add three eggs, and 6oz softened butter

DSC_0315

9) Place ingredients onto electric mixer (a hand mixer or simply a wooden spoon will work too!)

DSC_0316

10) Begin to mix the ingredients (slowly at first, or else the flour will spray everywhere!)

DSC_0316

11) Slightly increase the mixing speed

DSC_0317

12) Speed it up again

DSC_0318

13) And again…

DSC_0320

14) Until smooth!

DSC_0323

15) Spoon your mixture evenly into the two cake tins

DSC_033416) Put in the oven and wait 20 to 30 minutes, until they are golden brown, spongy to touch, and when skewered don’t release any mixture onto the skewer. Beware of doing this too soon, or the cakes may sink! Remove the cakes from the oven, and place them onto a cooling rack. Leave them in the tins for a couple of minutes to help them to set their shape

DSC_0340

You may have noticed that my cakes are very bumpy on top. I’m not exactly sure why this has happened, but I can simply use a bread knife to carve the bumpy layer away from the cake, leaving a smooth finish.

I’m going to put them in the freezer and finish them on Tuesday so it’s really fresh, but I’ll keep you updated.

I hope you have found this recipe easy to follow – I think it is the most simple thing in the world, and the cakes always taste delicious afterwards! Let me know what you think, and please send me any photos of your cakes!

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

