Our Workaholic Society


I get the feeling I might annoy people with this post, but I’m going to say it anyway.

I realised it was 2.15, and thought to myself ‘I should probably have some lunch’. A little voice in the back of my mind however, told me in no uncertain terms that I really should start writing a new article for my current writing contract. Lunch can wait, it told me, but work can’t.

What is society coming to, that we are chastising ourselves for wanting to eat? It’s a basic human need, yet we seem to deem it less important than slaving away over something we’re probably not enjoying to earn a pittance of money that we have no time to spend because we’re working all the time!

I’m sure I’m not the only one in this situation. I find it hard at times to concentrate on my work because I work from home. The current contract I’m writing for involves very repetitive articles which can get a little bit boring, and because of that I find myself getting distracted. I suppose this gives a bit of credence to my evil little head gremlin who won’t allow me to take a break, but it also makes me think that maybe we all need to chill out a bit.

I mean what would happen, really, if I allowed myself to have a break when I found myself getting distracted (whether by hunger pangs or something different)? In all honesty, I’d probably really enjoy my break and come back to my computer as a refreshed, eager writer who is about to be really productive because I’ve had a chance to rest my brain, eyes and hands.

We can’t possibly allow ourselves to do this though, can we? What would other people say? What would my dad say if he came home to find me watching a property show rather than tapping away at my keyboard? My family seem to delight in telling me that I ‘don’t have a job’ despite the fact that I am being paid to write articles every day of the week. I think it’s because I sometimes tell the little head gremlin to take a hike, and I watch my property show in the middle of the day. I know that my clients are really happy with the work I do for them, and I’m also pleased when I finish an article because more often than not I feel that I couldn’t have done it much better. It’s still not good enough though, is it? If I’m not seen working all the time I must be slacking off.

I am really not a fan of this pressure to work 24/7. My mother was talking to my brother about something similar. She was saying, probably quite rightly, that if you only work your contracted hours and no more, you will be viewed as somebody who isn’t a ‘team player’ because you don’t put in a load of overtime. Really though, you have no obligation to do any overtime. If you are required to work overtime in order to hold on to your job, there is something seriously wrong, but I know a lot of people who feel that they have to. They don’t get acknowledged for any extra work they are doing, and for some people (my dad included) they don’t even get paid all the time! Why are we doing this to ourselves?

Come on society. Sort it out.

Gingernut x

2 thoughts on “Our Workaholic Society

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

