The Last Mortal Bond (Book 3): A Spoiler-free Recommendation of an Entralling Fantasy Series


I love reading. Love love LOVE it.

With that in mind, I have no idea why it took me so long to purchase The Last Mortal Bond,  the final book in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne series I started reading over a year ago. I won’t give you a synopsis as it’s the last book in a series of three, but the author is Brian Staveley, and you can check out his epic blog here to find a synopsis for all 3 novels (by the way, the blog is a fantastic resource for wanna-be fantasy authors like myself and anyone who wants to get inside the mind of such an exciting novelist).

I’m pleased to announce that I have finally started The Last Mortal Bond, and I’m kicking myself for leaving it so long. IT’S AWESOME! 

Because it’s been about a year since I read the second installment, I will admit that I couldn’t precisely remember where everybody was up to when the last book ended. Enter Mr Staveley, an author with the skill to remind me what’s been going on without relying on boring and transparent narration provided by the main character as they re-live the events of previous novels and ponder their significance – sadly this seems to be a trick used by many authors as trilogies become the norm for successful publications.

According to my Kindle I’m 27% through the book at the moment (eurgh, I know. Kindle. I’m truly a lover of physical media, and Amazon is the devil, but it was bought for me as a present and to be honest, getting any book I want at my fingertips in an instant is a little too hard to resist.) 27% through probably isn’t the best place to be when writing a review/recommendation but I have a pressing need to get people to read these books and I can’t really wait until I finish (it’s quite a long book and my job keeps getting in the way!).

Nevertheless, I’ll do my best to pique your interest.

A lot has already happened in the first third of the book; the plot has moved on significantly from page one, many of the characters are facing situations they haven’t been in before, we’re learning more and more about each character (their strengths, weaknesses and motivations) and there is an air of mystery about how the trilogy will end which is very difficult to unpick. Nothing is predictable, and yet everything that has happened so far is ultimately satisfying and seems true to the world the author has created.

I clearly can’t speak for the end of the book – for all I know Mr Staveley could ruin it all in the next few pages – but based on the previous installments, I have the sneaking suspicion that it will culminate in a brilliant finale to a series which will stick in my mind long after I’ve turned the final page. As much as I hate finishing a book, I also can’t wait for my lunch-break to get stuck in again. It’s a problem I’m happy to be burdened with.

If you fancy being in a similar predicament (and I highly recommend you try it), and you enjoy books which can be both heartbreaking and uplifting, intriguing and frustrating, fantastical and grounded and all held together by complex, real and relatable characters, I highly recommend this series.

You can purchase any and all of the books from any good retailer – I’d be really excited to hear what you think when you read them so stay in touch!

Gingernut x

Let me know if you have any thoughts! :]

